Lady Mariners #2 seed in NAC Playoffs

Lady Mariners #2 seed in NAC Playoffs

Husson University has claimed the top seed in the upcoming North Atlantic Conference Women's Basketball Tournament. The Eagles (17-8 overall, 14-0 NAC) completed the regular season undefeated and earned the right to host the NAC semifinals and finals beginning next weekend, Friday, February 26. The top six teams qualify for the NAC Championship.

Maine Maritime Academy (16-9 overall, 11-3 NAC) finished regular season play as the second seed. The Mariners earned a first round bye and will play a semifinal game against an opponent to be determined at Husson next Friday.

Castleton State College and the University of Maine at Farmington tied for third place with a 9-5 conference mark. Using predetermined tiebreakers, Castleton (15-10 overall, 9-5 NAC) will be the third seed and will host sixth seed Johnson State College (7-18 overall, 4-10 NAC) in a first round contest on Tuesday, February 23.

Fifth seed Thomas College (6-17 overall, 5-9 NAC) will travel to fourth seed Farmington (11-12 overall, 9-5 NAC) for a first round contest on Tuesday. Game times to be determined.

Predetermined tiebreaking procedures were used to seed teams with identical conference winning percentages. First round games will be played at the higher seed on Tuesday, February 23. As the top seed, Husson will host both semifinal contests on Friday, February 26 at 6:00 and 8:00 p.m. and the championship on Saturday, February 27 at 2:00 p.m. for the NAC title. Game times are subject to change. The NAC Champion receives an automatic berth to the NCAA Division III Championship.

2009-10 NAC Women's Basketball Championship 

First Round - Tuesday, February 23 at higher seeds 
No. 6 Johnson State at No. 3 Castleton 6pm
No. 5 Thomas at No. 4 Maine-Farmington 6pm

Semifinals - Friday, February 26 at Husson University 
Thomas/Maine-Farmington winner at No. 1 Husson 6pm
Johnson State/Castleton winner vs. No. 2 Maine Maritime 8pm

Championship - Saturday, February 27 at Husson University 
Semifinal Winners TBA