Whittemore and Moir Named in NAC All-Conference Honors

Whittemore and Moir Named in NAC All-Conference Honors

CASTINE, Maine -- Maine Maritime Academy's Chance Whittemore (Skowhegan, Maine) has been named to the North Atlantic Conference (NAC) Golf Second Team and teammate Joey Moir (Bangor, Maine) has been named to the NAC Golf Sportsmanship Team.

Whittemore, a team captain and Marine Engineering Technology major, led the Mariners at the NAC Golf Championship, carding a two-day total of 161 to finish in a tie for 10th place overall. The junior carded an 83 on day one and improved five strokes on day two for a 78. During the season, Whittemore tied with Moir as the Mariners' top finishers at the two-day MEIGA Championship.

Moir, a team captain and Power Engineering Technology major, was the Mariners' top finisher at three events this season and shot a low-round of 74 during day one of the MEIGA Championship. The NAC Men's Golf Sportsmanship Team is reserved for those who have distinguished themselves through demonstrated acts of sportsmanship and ethical behavior. The honorees are individuals who have positively affected the men's golf culture and environment and whose behavior clearly demonstrates sportsmanship and integrity that go beyond the golf playing rules and etiquette. 

2018 NAC Men's Golf All-Conference Teams

To view a PDF list of the All-Conference team click HERE

First Team All-Conference

Daniel Christy, Sophomore, SUNY Delhi
Justin Serowick, Senior, Salem State
Taylor Morang, Senior, Husson
Mackenzie Clow, Senior, Husson
Eric Powers, Senior, Salem State
Gavin Dugas, Senior, Husson

Second Team All-Conference

Nick Ojala, Freshman, Castleton
Aaron Oliver, Junior, SUNY Delhi
Tom Rancour, Senior, SUNY Canton
Russell Herbert, Sophomore, SUNY Delhi
Chance Whittemore, Junior, Maine Maritime

Golfer of the Year
Daniel Christy, Sophomore, SUNY Delhi

Rookie of the Year
Nicholas Ojala, Freshman, Castleton

Senior Scholar Athlete of the Year
Dave Albright, Northern Vermont-Johnson

Coach of the Year
Dave Arehart, SUNY Delhi

Sportsmanship Team
Matthew Russell, SUNY Canton
Jacob Erwin, Castleton
Brandon Palmer, SUNY Delhi
Charles deHaas, UMaine-Farmington
Mackenzie Clow, Husson
Austin Walters, Northern Vermont-Johnson
Hunter Woodbury, MCLA
Joey Moir, Maine Maritime
Reed Bourgeois, Salem State
Caleb Roy, Thomas
Michael Boone, UMaine-Presque Isle

Click HERE to view the complete NAC release.