2019 NAC Men's Soccer Championship Tournament

2019 NAC Men's Soccer Championship Tournament

NAC Tournament: The Mariners claimed the top seed in the conference tournament after posting a 7-1 record in North Atlantic Conference play and earned the right to host Saturday and Sunday's NAC Championship Tournament.

All start times and dates are subject to change

Quarterfinals - Sunday, November 3

No. 3 SUNY Delhi 0 - No. 6 SUNY Canton 1
Box Score | NAC Recap

No. 4 Husson 5 - No. 5 UMaine-Farmington 3 (PKs)
Box Score | NAC Recap

Semifinals • Saturday, November 9

No. 2 Thomas 2 vs. No. 6 SUNY Canton 1
Box Score | NAC Recap

No. 4 Husson 1 at No. 1 Maine Maritime 5
Box Score | Recap

Championship • Sunday, November 10

No. 2 Thomas at No. 1 Maine Maritime - 2:30 p.m. 
Video | Live Stats

Maine Maritime's Post Season History Against Teams in the Tournament: This is the fourth ever meeting between Maine Maritime and Husson in the NAC Tournament. The Mariners have faced Thomas three times and Canton once. Most recently the Mariners fell to Canton 2-1 last season in the semifinals. The Mariners have faced off against the Terriers twice in the quarterfinals, and once in the semifinals. They have faced the Eagles twice in the semifinals and once in the quarterfinals, and have faced Canton once in the semifinals. Maine Maritime is 2-1 in the post season against Thomas and 3-0-1 against the Terriers in their last four meetings. The Mariners are 0-3 against Husson in the post season but hold a 2-1 advantage in the last three meetings. The Mariners are 0-1 against Canton in the post season.

The Mariners: Under the direction of NAC Coach of the Year, Billy Shannon, in his fourth season, the Mariners compiled an 12-3-1 overall record. The Mariners went 7-1 against NAC opponents. This is the second consecutive year the Mariners have entered the NAC Tournament as the top seed.

Matthew Caron (Scarborough, Maine) leads the Mariners with 12 goals and 17 assists this season, while freshman Trevor Gray (Gorham, Maine) leads the Mariners in net with 72 saves and nine wins including six wins in conference.

The Terriers: This season the Terriers went 8-8-1 overall and 7-1 in the conference, to claim the second seed. Chris Parsons is guiding the Terriers in his ninth season at the helm of the program.

Zenawi Bowen leads the team with 23 points including nine goals and five assists, while teammate Eric LaBrie is second with 22 points including 10 goals and two assists. In net, John Villanueva leads the way with 35 saves and a .673 save percentage.

The Eagles: The Eagles went 7-12 overall this season and 5-3 in conference play to claim the fourth seed. Gavin Penney leads the Eagles in his fourth season as Head Coach and sixth overall with the program. The Eagles enter the semifinals after a 5-3 penalty kick shootout win over UMaine-Farmington in the quarterfinals last Sunday.

Cai Pritchard leads the Eagles with nine goals on the season, while Pritchard and Joao Passoni are tied with four assists each. Kyle Townsend has led the way in net with 22 saves and a .629 save percentage.

The Kangaroos: SUNY Canton enters the Tournament after posting a 7-9-2 overall record and a 4-4 conference record. The Kangaroos are led by Head Coach Tim Penrod in his seventh season. The Roos enter the Semifinals, after upsetting the sixth-seeded Broncos of SUNY Delhi last Sunday.

Shayne O'Neill leads Canton with eight goals on the season, while five of the Roos players are tied with two assists each. Dawson Pellerin and Tyler Petersen each have 44 saves on the season, while Pellerin holds a slight advantage in save percentage with a .772.

NAC Honors: The Mariners were heavily honored in the NAC All-Conference awards as Matt Caron earned NAC Player of the Year honors for the second year in a row and Head Coach Billy Shannon grabbed Coach of the Year honors for the second straight year. The Mariners also put four players on All-NAC First Team including Caron, Trevor Gray, Jack Davis (Belfast, Maine), and Evan Backus (Farmington, Maine), while Ryan Holmes (Newmarket, N.H.) and Dalton Moore (Hollis Center, Maine) were named to the Second Team.

Farmington's Andrew Longhurst claimed Defensive Player of the Year, Thomas's LaBrie was named Rookie of the Year and UMaine-Presque Isle's Chad Bartlett was named Senior Scholar Athlete.

What's Next?: The NAC Champion will receive an automatic berth to the 2019 NCAA Division III Men's Soccer Championship.