MMA finishes 2nd / Four Mariners Make All-Conference

MMA finishes 2nd / Four Mariners Make All-Conference



Lyndon State Claims NAC Cross Country Crown

(October 31st, 2009) – Poultney, VT – The Lyndon State College men and University of Maine Farmington women's cross country teams captured their respective team crowns to repeat as 2009 North Atlantic Conference Champions.  The Hornets grabbed 4 of the top 7 spots to edge Maine Maritime while the Beavers placed 6 runners in the top 12 to easily capture the title Saturday on the campus of Green Mountain College in Poultney, VT.

Lyndon Freshman Joshua Grant Leads Hornets

Freshman Joshua Grant (Nashua, NH) captured the men's medalist honor covering the 8k course in 27:22 to lead the Hornets to the team title.  Grant finished 47 seconds in front of individual runner-up Matthew Methot (Portland, ME) of Maine Maritime Academy.  LSC's Wilden Fils (Stamford, CT), MMA's Lucas Miller (Belfast, ME), and LSC's Jeremiah Powell (Lunenburg, VT) finished 3rd-6th, respectively, within 4 seconds of one another.

The Hornets (27 points) were closely followed by Maine Maritime (39) who claimed 4 top-10 spots.  The University of Maine Farmington (78) was a distant 3rd followed by Castleton State (82), Johnson State College (156), and Thomas College (169).  The host Green Mountain College Eagles rounded out the field in7th with 183 points.

Lyndon St. head coach Chris Ummer was voted men's NAC Coach of the Year by his peers while the Mariners were honored with the Team Sportsmanship Award.

MMA Runners
2nd Matthew Methot 28:09
4th Lucas Miller 28:15
6th Greg Baribault 28:29
10th Evan Vashon 29:14
17th Travis Chenevert 29:55
19th Matt Francis 30:00
30th Zach Ulman 32:16
35th Patrick Lindsey 33:24
36th Mitchell Fader 33:24
46th Sean Ferris 35:36

All-Conference Honors

Runner of the Year

Joshua Grant (LSC)

Rookie of the Year

Joshua Grant (LSC)

Sportsmanship Award

Maine Maritime

Men's Cross Country First Team

Joshua Grant (LSC)
Matthew Methot (MMA)
Wilden Fils (LSC) 
Lucas Miller (MMA)
Jeremiah Powell (LSC)
Greg Baribault (MMA)
Michael Farmer (LSC)  
Cam Betts (UMF)

Men's Cross Country Second Team

Nohea King (CSC) 
Evan Vashon (MMA)
Craig Johnson (LSC)  
Isaac French (CSC)
Nick Grasso (CSC)
Kel Conga (UMF)
Pat Pozzetti (UMF)