Felix, Ogden and Plissey Earn All-NAC Honors

Felix, Ogden and Plissey Earn All-NAC Honors

CASTINE, Maine -- Maine Maritime Academy's Alayne Felix (Mahopac, N.Y.) has been named to the North Atlantic Conference (NAC) Women's Basketball First Team for the fourth year in a row, while teammate Melinda Ogden (Searsport, Maine) has named to the NAC Second Team and Lauren Plissey (Hermon, Maine) has earned a spot on the NAC Sportsmanship Team.

Felix, a senior Power Engineering Technology major, continues her impressive career with the Mariners, leading the team in points per game (14.1) and field goal percentage (55.3) this season. Felix's 55.3 field goal percentage is a personal season-best and conference best. Felix, who began her legacy as a Mariner by scoring in double-digits in 92-consecutive games (102 games in total), became the Maine Maritime all-time leading scorer this season with 1,717 career points and counting. Felix tallied 339 points this season, and is the program's all-time leader in field goals made (647), games started (105) and minutes (3,115). The forward averages 5.0 rebounds, 1.6 assists and 1.1 steals per game this season. Against conference opponents, Felix averages a conference-best 55.2 percent from the floor, and has shot 50 percent or better in 16 games, including 75 percent or higher and eight games and a perfect 100 percent from the floor in two games.

Ogden, a junior International Business & Logistics major and 2017-2018 NAC Women's Basketball Sportsmanship Team selection, leads the Mariners with 55 three-pointers this season, while ranking second on the team in points per game (10.1). Ogden has appeared in all 24 games for the Mariners, starting 21, and ranks second in the conference in three-pointers made total (55) and against conference opponents (37). The guard scored in double-figures in 15 games, while shooting 50 percent or higher from the floor in seven games.

Plissey, a freshman Marine Biology major, made an immediate impact on the Mariners appearing in all 24 games and earning the start in 16 games this season. The forward averages a team-best 6.5 rebounds against conference opponents and 5.9 rebounds per game overall, while averaging 4.8 points per game and 44.9 percent shooting from the floor. Plissey earned NAC and MWBCA Rookie of the Week honors twice this season. The NAC Women's Basketball Sportsmanship Team is reserved for those who have distinguished themselves through demonstrated acts of sportsmanship and ethical behavior. The honorees have positively affected the basketball culture and environment, and regularly demonstrate sportsmanship and integrity that goes beyond the playing rules.

2018-2019 Women's Basketball All-Conference Teams

First Team
G - Kenzie Worcester, Senior - Husson
F - Alayne Felix, Senior - Maine Maritime
F - Alissa Mitchell, Junior - Northern Vermont-Lyndon
F - McKenna Brodeur, Sophomore - UMaine-Farmington
G - Antanasia Chambers, Sophomore - SUNY Canton

Second Team
F - Megan Peach, Sophomore - Husson
G - Melinda Ogden, Junior - Maine Maritime
G - Breanna Cullers, Junior - SUNY Canton
G - Joan Overman, Junior - Husson
G - Molly Carroll, Senior - Thomas

Player of the Year
Kenzie Worcester, Senior - Husson
Defensive Player of the Year
Alissa Mitchell, Junior - Northern Vermont-Lyndon
Rookie of the Year

Lea Crompton, Freshman - Northern Vermont-Lyndon
Senior Scholar Athlete of the Year
Paige Carter, Senior - UMaine-Farmington
Coach of the Year
Kissy Walker – Husson

Sportsmanship Team
Billie Rivenburgh, Sophomore (Frankfort, N.Y.) - SUNY Canton
Paige Carter, Senior (South Portland, Maine) -  UMaine-Farmington
Amanda D'Amico, Sophomore (Merrimack, New Hampshire) Husson
Lauren Plissey, Freshman (Hermon, Maine) - Maine Maritime
Devin Libby, Sophomore (Burlington, Vermont) - Northern Vermont-Johnson
Rylee Moore, Junior (Livermore, Maine) - Northern Vermont-Lyndon
Emmy Churchill, Junior (Washburn, Maine) - UMaine-Presque Isle
Molly Horton, Freshman (Brownington, Vermont) - Thomas 

Click HERE to view the complete NAC release.
Click HERE to view a PDF of the NAC honors.