O’Neil and Mahoney Named in NAC All-Conference Honors

O’Neil and Mahoney Named in NAC All-Conference Honors

CASTINE, Maine – Maine Maritime Academy's Shelby O'Neil (Bar Harbor, Maine) has been named to the North Atlantic Conference (NAC) Women's Lacrosse Second Team while Catherine Mahoney (Plymouth, Mass.) has been named to the NAC Women's Lacrosse Sportsmanship Team. 

O'Neil, a Vessel Operations & Technology major, leads the Mariners with 31 goals, including 14 free position goals. The senior midfielder has 35 draw controls, 22 ground balls and 13 caused turnovers. Against conference opponents O'Neil has a team-leading 17 goals to go along with 14 ground balls, nine caused turnovers and eight draw controls. O'Neil has recorded seven multi-goal games this season including, tying the single-game record in goals (7) and points (8) against Thomas College in the regular season finale on Monday.

Mahoney, a Marine Science / Small Vessel Operations major, started in all 11 games for the Mariners this season. The freshman defender scooped up 14 ground balls and caused 11 turnovers, including nine ground balls and seven caused turnovers against conference opponents. The NAC Women's Lacrosse Sportsmanship Team is reserved for those who have distinguished themselves through demonstrated acts of sportsmanship and ethical behavior. The honorees are individuals who have positively affected the lacrosse culture and environment and whose behavior clearly demonstrates sportsmanship and integrity that go beyond the playing rules and etiquette. 

2018 NAC Women's Lacrosse All-Conference Teams

To view a PDF list of the All-Conference team click HERE 

First Team
A - Tara Bainbridge, Junior, New England College
A - Emily Cross, Senior, Castleton
A - Brittany Ireland, Junior, Colby-Sawyer
A - Erin Shuttle, Sophomore, Castleton
M - Emma Best, Sophomore, Castleton
M - Amanda Deshaies, Senior, Husson
M - Nicole Lavigne, Senior, Colby-Sawyer
M - Sierra Schuster, Junior, Colby-Sawyer
D - Kaitlyn Berry, Junior, New England College
D - Samantha Cross, Junior, UMaine-Farmington
D - Katie Feeney, Junior, Castleton
D - Courtney Lampert, Senior, Colby-Sawyer
GK - Kailyn Lapham, Sophomore, Colby-Sawyer

Second Team
A - Hannah Braman, Senior, Castleton
A - Briana Couture, Freshman, Colby-Sawyer
A - Paige Daigle, Freshman, Husson
A - Sierra Gilley, Senior, UMaine-Farmington
A - Alana Scott, Junior, New England College
M - Tailor Chapin, Sophomore, New England College
M - Cali Newton, Sophomore, Husson
M - Shelby O'Neil, Senior, Maine Maritime
M - Carly Raymond, Senior, UMaine-Farmington
D - Alex Butler, Freshman, Husson
D - Erin McKenna, Junior, Castleton
D - Anya Owens, Senior, New England College
D - Serian Williams, Junior, Husson
GK - Samantha Hebb, Junior, Castleton

Player of the Year
Nicole Lavigne, Senior, Colby-Sawyer
Defensive Player of the Year
Kailyn Lapham, Sophomore, Colby-Sawyer
Rookie of the Year
Briana Couture, Freshman, Colby-Sawyer
Senior Scholar Athlete of the Year
Jordan Turner, Senior, Thomas
Coach of the Year
Emily Hoar, First Season, Colby-Sawyer 

Sportsmanship Team
Madison Bentz, Senior, Thomas
Nadine Downing, Senior, Castleton
Jordyn Labrie, Sophomore, Husson
Courtney Lampert, Senior, Colby-Sawyer
Catherine Mahoney, Freshman, Maine Maritime
Nicole Mercier, Junior, UMaine-Farmington
Gwyn Stahl, Senior, Lyndon
Alyssa Tursi, Junior, New England College

Click HERE to view the complete NAC release.