Five Mariners Grab All-Conference Honors

Five Mariners Grab All-Conference Honors

CASTINE, Maine – Susana DeFrank (Temecula, Calif.) has been named to the North Atlantic Conference (NAC) First Team, while teammates Kylie Bradley (Westborough, Mass.), Eryn Doiron (Wilton, Maine) and Makayla Lewis (Purcellville, Va.) earned NAC Second Team honors and Miranda McIntire (Alna, Maine) has been named to the NAC Women's Soccer Sportsmanship Team.

DeFrank earns first team honors for the third-consecutive season. This season, the junior midfielder earned the start in all 17 games she appeared in, scoring four goals and dishing out three assists. Against conference opponents she tallied four goals and two assists. DeFrank tallied the game-winner against Green Mountain in the Mariners' final game of the regular season.

Bradley, a two-year captain for the Mariners, appeared in the first 14 games of the season and helped the team to three shutouts as a crucial member of the back line. This is the second NAC All-conference nod for the senior defender.

Doiron started in all 18 games for the Mariners this season, scoring 10 goals and dishing out four assists. Against conference opponents she tallied seven goals and three assists. The sophomore midfielder tallied the game-winning goal in the Mariners' victories over Johnson State College and UMaine-Presque Isle.

Earning NAC All-Conference honors for the third-consecutive season, Lewis started in all 18 games for the Mariners and led the team with 25 points. The junior forward scored 10 goals and dished out five assists, including two goals and four assists against conference opponents. Lewis net a hat-trick in the Mariners' first game of the season against Unity College, including the game-winner and helped lead the Mariners to a postseason birth with the game-winner against UMaine-Farmington late in the season. 

McIntire, a captain, started in all 18 games for the Mariners and scored her first-career goal against Green Mountain College this season. The junior defender also dished out two assists this season and helped the team to five shutouts. The NAC Women's Soccer Sportsmanship Team is reserved for those who have distinguished themselves through demonstrated acts of sportsmanship and ethical behavior. The honorees are individuals who have positively affected the soccer culture and environment and whose behavior clearly demonstrates sportsmanship and integrity that go beyond the playing rules and etiquette.

2017 Women's Soccer All-Conference Teams

To view a PDF list of the All-Conference team click HERE   

F - Kylie Aither, Senior, Johnson
F - Leah Hibbad, Senior, Husson
F - Rylee Nichols, Freshman, Castleton
F - Jaycie Triandafilou, Senior, New England College
M - Susana DeFrank, Junior, Maine Maritime
M - Emily LePage, Junior, New England College
M - Molly MacLure, Sophomore, Colby-Sawyer
D - Nicole Cotrone, Senior, New England College
D - Corrie Hoyt, Senior, Colby-Sawyer
D - Kaitie Sanders, Junior, Castleton
GK - Sam Mitchell, Sophomore, Colby-Sawyer 

F - McKenna Brodeur, Freshman, UMaine-Farmington
F - Hannah Fields, Junior, Colby-Sawyer
F - Makayla Lewis, Junior, Maine Maritime
M - Julia Carone, Freshman, Castleton
M - Eryn Doiron, Sophomore, Maine Maritime
M - Taylor Fortin, Senior, Husson
M - Bronwen Hopwood, Junior, Castleton
D - Kylie Bradley, Senior, Maine Maritime
D - Emilie Nowakowski, Junior, New England College
D - Maddie Page, Senior, Husson
D - Alex Speed, Junior, Husson
GK - Kiley Baran, Senior, Castleton 

Player of the Year & Defensive Player of the Year
Corrie Hoyt, Senior, Colby-Sawyer
Rookie of the Year
Rylee Nichols, Freshman, Castleton
Senior Scholar Athlete of the Year
Kate Steller, Senior, Castleton
Coach of the Year
Meghan Medbery, Sixth Season, Colby-Sawyer

Sportsmanship Team
Caitlin Cole, Junior, Castleton
Jordyn Hopkins, Junior, Husson
Amanda Martin, Junior, Colby-Sawyer
Miranda McIntire, Junior, Maine Maritime
Taylor Merritt, Sophomore, Green Mountain
Maddy Noyes, Sophomore, Thomas
Michaela Pomeroy, Junior, New England College
Shannon Rooney, Senior, Johnson
Johanna Sargent, Senior, Lyndon
Morgann Tortorella, Sophomore, UMaine-Farmington

Click HERE to view the complete NAC release.